For best experience please turn on javascript and use a modern browser!
About ASCoR

ASCoR Baschwitz Article of the Year Award

Amsterdam School of Communication Research / ASCoR


This award is given for the best article published by an ASCoR staff member in a peer-reviewed journal in the preceding year.

Judith Möller won the 2018 award for her article:

  • Möller, J.E., Trilling, D.C., Helberger, N., & van Es, B. (2018). Do not blame it on the algorithm: An empirical assessment of multiple recommender systems and their impact on content diversity. Information Communication and Society, 21, 959-977.

Previous winners

Both Sophie Boerman and Karin Fikkers won the 2017 award for their articles:

  • Fikkers, K. M., Piotrowski, J., & Valkenburg, P. M. (2017). Assessing the reliability and validity of television and game violence exposure measures. Communication Research, 44, 117-143.
  • Boerman, S. C., Kruikemeier, S.,& Zuiderveen Borgesius, F. J. (2017).Online behavioral advertising: A literature review and research agenda. Journal of Advertising,46, 363-376.

Rens Vliegenthart won the 2016 award for his article:

  • Vliegenthart, R., Walgrave, S., Wouters, R., Hutter, S., Jennings, W., Gava, R., Tresh, A., Varone, F., Grossman, E., Beunig, C., Brourard, S., Chaques-Bonafont, L. (2016). The Media as a Dual Mediator of the Political Agenda–Setting Effect of Protest. A Longitudinal Study in Six Western European Countries. Social Forces, 95(2), 837-859. 

Sophie Boerman won the 2015 award for her article:

  • Boerman, S.C., Reijmersdal, E.A. van & Neijens, P.C. (2015). Using eye tracking to understand the effects of brand placement disclosure types in television programs. Journal of Advertising, 44 (3), 196-207.

Marieke Fransen won the 2014 award for her article:

  • Fransen, M. L., & Fennis, B. M. (2014). Comparing the impact of explicit and implicit resistance induction strategies on message persuasiveness. Journal of Communication, 64, 915-934.

Patti Valkenburg won the 2013 award for her article:

  • Valkenburg, P. M., & Peter, J. (2013). The differential susceptibility to media effects model. Journal of Communication, 63, 221-243.

Marcel van Egmond won the 2012 award for his article:

  •  Brandenburg, H., & Van Egmond, M. (2012). Pressed into party support? Media influence on partisan attitudes during the 2005 UK general election campaign.  British Journal of Political Science, 42, 441-463.

Bas van den Putte won the 2011 award for his article:

  • van den Putte, S. J. H. M., Yzer, M., Southwell, B. G., de Bruijn, G. J., & Willemsen, M. C. (2011). Interpersonal communication as an indirect pathway for the effect of antismoking media content on smoking cessation.  Journal of Health Communication, 16, 470-485.

Moniek Buijzen won the 2010 award for her article:

  • Buijzen, M. A., van Reijmersdal, E. A., & Owen, L. H. (2010). Introducing the PCMC model: An investigative framework for young people’s processing of commercialized media content. Communication Theory, 20, 427-450.

Andreas Schuck won the 2009 award for his article:

  • Schuck, A. R. T., & de Vreese, C. H. (2009). Reversed mobilization in referendum campaigns: How positive news framing can mobilize the skeptics. International Journal of Press/Politics, 14, 40-66.

Jochen Peter won the 2008 award for his article:

  • Peter, J., & Valkenburg, P. M. (2008). Adolescents' exposure to sexually explicit Internet material and sexual preoccupancy: A three-wave panel study. Media Psychology, 11, 207-234.

Moniek Buijzen won the 2007 award for her article:

  • Buijzen, M. A. (2007). Reducing children's susceptibility to commercials: Mechanisms of factual and evaluative advertising interventions. Media Psychology, 9, 411-430.

Jochen Peter won the 2006 award for his article together with Patti Valkenburg:

  • Peter, J., & Valkenburg, P. M. (2006). Adolescents' exposure to sexually explicit online material and recreational attitudes toward sex. Journal of Communication, 56, 639-660.

Bas van den Putte won the 2005 award for his article:

  • van den Putte, S. H. J. M., Yzer, M. C., & Brunsting, S. (2005). Social influences on smoking cessation: A comparison of the effects of six social influence variables. Preventive Medicine, 41, 186-193.

About the award

ASCoR staff members, including postdoctoral researchers, can qualify for this award. Former ASCoR staff members qualify until one year after their contract has ended. The article must have been published (not ‘due to appear') in the preceding year, in a peer-reviewed journal, must have an ASCoR staff member as the first author, and must have resulted from research conducted at ASCoR (i.e., not research that was conducted during a previous appointment at a different institute). ASCoR must be mentioned in the published article as the principal affiliation. The award will go to the first author of the article chosen.

All ASCoR researchers can nominate articles from a list of eligible articles. Self-nominations are accepted. The selection committee consists of three scholars from different universities.

The winner of this award recieves a challenge cup, a feature on the ASCoR website, and an invitation to give an ASCoR lecture about the awarded research.