Amsterdam School of Communication Research / ASCoR

Annual reports

Amsterdam School of Communication Research / ASCoR

Highlights in 2016

The year 2016 has been another successful year for the Amsterdam School of Communication Research / ASCoR. Our members have produced high-quality, influential research and published it in prestigious journals. Many innovative projects and data collection endavours have been continued and researchers have participated in large-scale national and international research project. Similar to previous years, ASCoR has been an inspiring hub for top researchers. Members of our school received both recognition for their work and prestigious funding. For example, Claes de Vreese was selected to become a fellow of the illustrious Royal Dutch Academy of Science (KNAW). Patti Valkenburg became fellow of the Royal Holland Society of Science and Humanities. She also received the Steven H. Chaffee Career Achievement Award of the International Communication Association (ICA). Jochen Peter received a Consolidator Grant from the European Research Council (ERC) for his project entitled “Children and social robots: An integrative framework”.

ASCoR researchers also received various awards. Nadine Bol was awared the Annie Lang Dissertation Award of ICA’s Information Systems Division. Marijn Meijers received the Best Dissertation Award from the Netherlands School of Communication Research (NESCoR) Several ASCoR members also received top paper awards at international conferences or for articles published in academic journals. Once again, the achievements of our PhD students with their impressive number of top paper awards at international conferences deserve particular mentioning. The national and international recognition of the work of our PhD students not only shows their talent and competitiveness, but also ASCoR’s ongoing ability to attract, recruit, and educate high potential young academics.



Below you will find the links to the previous Annual Reports of ASCoR:

Published by  ASCoR

7 December 2017